The Holy Scriptures; An Agent of Transformation 2
Thank God it’s Friday!!! It’s a great privilege to be alive.

Last week, we looked briefly at what the Holy Scriptures/ Bible is & it’s main assignment on this Earth which is for Transformation not only for Information, but, to bring men to Perfection.
Ok…

How then do I study?

May I share my own experiences? Thank you.

If I want to study the Bible the first thing I do most times is to Confess to God that I believe the words written in the Bible & I believe the Holy Spirit will teach me. Of course, The Holy Spirit inspired men to write the scriptures, so to get the revelation I must depend on the Author.
John 16:13 (BIBLE) But when the Friend comes, the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen and, indeed, out of all that I have done and said.
After words, I ask the Lord to Open my Heart to receive from Him just like He did to Lydia in Acts 16:14. Because we need a free heart to receive 
James 1:21 (BIBLE) So throw all spoiled virtue and cancerous evil in the garbage. In simple humility, let our gardener, God, landscape you with the Word, making a salvation-garden of your life.

You might have a topic you want to study…for instance “Love”.

Or, the Holy Spirit will lead you to a chapter. After I might have read the verse or chapter then I take time to pray….and read again.

(You see you can’t separate Prayer from Bible study, it wipes off every obscurity & gives more clarity)
When I read again, I might just get stuck to only one verse or one word & then the Holy Spirit leads me to other chapter or verses in the Bible.
Some days back…I wanted to study my Bible. So, after praying…I heard Hebrews 4. So, I went there, it is talking about *Rest* and from there, I went to Hebrews 3 to get the full details (knowing that the Bible wasn’t originally written in Chapters & verses).

After reading it the first time, prayed, read it again & again & again (Now, you see when you study you are getting deeper, digging deep into a topic or a verse)

Trust me, sometimes God can teach you a verse for months, I am a testimony to that. Because it’s Bible Study not Bible reading.

To study is to scrutinize, get deeper in knowledge.

So, after reading first, pray, second time, over & over again.

I then give time to meditate on it…(Trust me, the Power of Transformation by the written word comes in meditation).

Meditation is that you’re thinking deeply about what you just read allowing the Holy Spirit to explain it & that is what makes the Word Of God (we will get there later).

I most times, ask questions from what I read & pray, waiting on the Lord, meditating….and before you know it….Gbam!!!!

Something else would spring up in your spirit.
Like me some days back…I was led to study the book of Exodus to fully understand what Hebrews was saying.

And I have been on that for some days now…and it has been great.
So, when we study, we give the Holy Spirit His place as the teacher, totally depending on Him to open the word to you.
Listen, Studying the Bible without the Holy Spirit won’t give you the Word of God…it is only letters (2nd Cor 3:6).

That’s information, it’s not backed with power for transformation.
The Holy Spirit gives life to the letters therefore making it the Word of God….hmmm!

Don’t worry we will still look into that.
So, how then do I get transformed, by meditation? confession? or what?
Catch up with me next week as God helps us to grow to His expectation.
Before we go deep in Bible study. I believe these are the basic foundations.
God bless us.

Leave a comment.

