PREVIOUS EPISODES

<!more>

Vanessa shut the door slowly and stood by it for moment before she sat down. She was attracted by the door of Debbie that was opened. “Hey, Debbie.” She greeted.

“Welcome, Vanessa. How was service today?” She asked.

Vanessa shrugged. “I was blessed.

 What about you?” She enquired.

“It was nice.” She replied. “Did you visit Grandma?”

Vanessa nodded. “Sure I did. You can’t believe what happened there.” She turned to Debbie.

Debbie scratched her forehead. “Tell me, what is it?” She inquired.

“Williams actually went back to Grandma and brought her another set of provisions and stuffs like that. I don’t know if that is what made Grandma to start talking to me about him.” She paused for a while.

“Really? What did you tell her?”

Debbie chuckled. “We were still at it when Tracey came in angrily and broke the news that  Williams had chatted her up on Facebook and told her he liked her and would want something to go on between them. You can’t believe it!”

Debbie was shocked. “That’s too bad!” She remarked.

Vanessa chuckled. “Extremely bad. Debbie, I am resigning tomorrow.” She broek the news.

Debbie was shocked. Her eyes were wide open, staring at Vanessa unblinking. “What will you now get yourself doing after that?” She asked.

“I don’t even know, I just want to leave that place!” She exclaimed.

Debbie swooshed out a long breath and rested her back before she spoke again. “I think you should not leave now, dear. I think you should just act as if you know nothing about it till you get another job, Vanessa.”

Vanessa looked away for a moment and looked at Debbie. “Would you help me with another job?” She asked.

Debbie smiled. “I don’t know anyone..” She stopped, looking away and continued. “I’ll meet Daniel, he might have someone who can help.” She added.

Vanessa nodded. “Thanks, Debbie.”

“But it takes one to get closer to a man to know who he really is, Vanessa. I never knew Williams was like this.” 

“He’s an atheist, what do you expect?” 
Debbie shook her head. “That can’t be. It doesn’t take a religion to know characters and manners. That was bad of him.”
Vanessa sighed. 

** ** **

It was the third time she would be checking the time, but she kept doing off. She didn’t want to go to office, Debbie’s words that had been re-echoing in her ears had made her change her mind about resigning. She finally lifted her heavy eyelids and yawned. It was fifteen minutes past eight when she woke up. She walked to the bathroom slowly and started praring for her place of work. 

She knew she was rather too slow about everything that day, and it was deliberate. She didn’t care about what Williams will say or any other staff. She even wanted him to talk so she could just tender her resignation letter.

 She picked up her phone and dialed Daniel’s number when she was finally through with her dressing. Her heart skipped a beat as she called him, wondering what he might be thinking as she had called him. Unfortunately, he didn’t pick his call.

She swallowed and marched to her car and drove off to office.

** ** **

Daniel had just finished reading his Bible when he checked his phone and met a missed call. “Vanessa?” His eyes widened. 

They had exchanged their mobile numbers the day he visited her. “Why did she call me?” He asked himself, standing up from his reading table. He dialed the number again and stood by the door to the restroom.

“Hello?” He walked to his bed and sat down as she finally picked up her call.

“Hey, Daniel. Good morning.” She greeted.
“Good Morning. How are you?”

“I’m good. Please I’d love to see you, Sir. I don’t know how possible it is.”

“I’m free today. I hope it is not something very difficult.”

“Not at all. But how do we see. Please can you come to that restaurant today by 1pm?” she asked politely.

“Okay.” He replied.

** ** **

Vanessa entered into the secretary’s office and walked to her desk. “Good morning, dear.”

She nodded in response, engrossed in what she was typing. “Any news?” Vanessa asked her.

“Mr. Williams already asked after you and said you should see him when you arrive.” She replied.

Vanessa frowned. “But why?”

“How would I know?” She replied almost immediately.

Vanessa hissed silently as she left her presence and went to William’s office. She knocked and patiently waited for him to let her in. after some seconds, she heard his voice bidding her in. “Good morning, Sir.” She greeted.

“Vanessa, good morning. But you are late today, I hope all is fine.”

“I woke up late.” She replied sharply.

Williams ccontorted his mouth and shrugged. “ Did you go clubbing yesterday?”

“I can’t do that.” She raised her brows. “It does not define who I am.” She replied.

“Do sit down, Vanessa.” He stretched his hand to a seat. “What do you now mean about those going to club?”

She shrugged. “I never said anything, Sir. Did I?”

“You said it does not define who you are, so what’s the definition of those going there?” He asked.

“I have a lot to do today Sir, can I leave now?”

“I’m still talking to you!” He squeaked.
Vanessa was shocked as she sprung to her feet. “Excuse me, man. You don’t shout at me! What am I still doing here?” She hissed and walked out. 

Williams was breathing heavily as he saw her leave.

** ** **

Vanessa was really provoked. She didn’t know how she could control her anger with Williams. As she got back to her office, she had gotten the laptop ready and typed her resignation letter then. She wished she had done that earlier, if not for Debbie, she knew she would have been done with Williams for some hours then.

She had printed the letter and signed, swiveling the chair as she stared at the wall clock. She didn’t plan to come back to the office again immediately after she leaves by 1pm to see Daniel.

 She swallowed as she opened her cabinets to check her valuable things and started packing her things so she wouldn’t come back to pick anything. 

She was finally done by some minutes past twelve. She walked round her office for some minutes, smiling. At least, she would be at peace if she left the office for Williams, she had thought within herself as she plopped down the sofa in the office. She even thought Williams would have visited her in the office, but he hadn’t come. 

She couldn’t wait for the clock to tick. Immediately it was 1pm, she packed the company’s belongings in her place to the secretary’s office and tendered her resignation letter. She didn’t bother waiting to talk with the secretary after she had told her to give Williams the letter, she walked away.

She kicked the engine and drove off to the restaurant.

** ** **

Daniel walked into the restaurant, smiling. They should know me here already, he had thought as his eyes darted round and he finally found Vanessa where she was sitting. 

“Good afternoon, Vanessa.” He protruded his hand for a shake.

“Hey, Daniel. Thanks for coming.” Daniel nodded. “It’s nothing.” He sat down. “Why haven’t you ordered for something?” He said, looking in the direction of the waitress. “Please come.”

“I don’t want to eat anything, Daniel.” She replied with a low voice.

Daniel shook his head. “Have you eaten anything earlier?” He asked her.

“I’ve not eaten anything today. But, I don’t want to.” She replied.

Daniel raised his brows. “Are you fasting?” He smiled.

Vanessa shook her head. “I just don’t want to.” She repeated.

Daniel chuckled. “You should at least take ice cream and maybe meat-pie.” He said. He turned to the waitress and gave his order.

“I’m sorry I had to call you, Sir. I just need to see you because I need your help.” She paused and Daniel cut in. “Who is the sir?” He wondered.

Vanessa chuckled. “You.”

Daniel clasped his hands together. “You are indeed funny. Anyways, how may I help you ma?” 

“I don’t know if you can help me get a job, maybe with any of your friends.” She said.
Daniel looked shocked. “What happened to your place of work?” 

She shrugged. “I resigned this afternoon.” She replied. “Please don’t ask me why.” She quickly added as she grinned.

Daniel laughed. “I don’t know what else to say now that you have told me not to ask you the reason.”

Vanessa smiled. “I don’t want to say it now, I will tell you later.” She replied.

Daniel looked away for a moment, thinking of who he could link her with. While he was thinking, his order was served and his eyes made contact with that of Vanessa for some seconds before he broke it off and cleared his throat. “Let me call Bennie.” He picked his phone and punched some buttons.

After some minutes, he was smiling and ended the call. “What of your C.V?” He asked.

“It’s at home.” She replied.

“We’ll meet tomorrow morning then, let’s see what Bennie has to offer.” He said, smiling.

“Really? Thank you so much, God bless you.” She said happily.

Daniel smiled. “It’s nothing.”

** ** **

Vanessa grinned into the living room. She was indeed very happy from all indications. “Hey, Debbie.” She sat beside her, removing her shoes.

Debbie smiled. She thought Williams and Vanessa are now on good terms as she saw her smiling. “What’s up, dear? He has apologized, right?” She asked.

Vanessa looked at her with grimace. “Don’t talk about Williams. I have tendered my letter.” She replied.

“What?” Debbie sprung to her feet. “But why, Vanessa. I told you not to do that today and I thought you also agreed that you wouldn’t resign today. What will you be doing now that you have resigned?”

“I met Temitope Daniel, dear.” She replied, dropping her bag on the sofa.

Debbie stared at her for a moment and sat down. “When?”

“I dropped the letter by the break time and left. Williams and I quarreled this morning and I was annoyed. I don’t even want to have anything to do with him again.” 

Debbie sighed. “Is there any progress with Temitope?” She asked.

Vanessa smiled. “That’s a better question.” She winked and continued. “He has called one of his friends and we’ll be going together tomorrow morning.” She replied. “Williams is very annoying.”

“What job is that, Vanessa.” She asked.
Vanessa shrugged. “Don’t know yet. At least, it should be better than that of Williams.”

“Let’s see.”

** ** **

It was some minutes after four when Daniel got back home. He was shocked to meet Mike at home. “when did you come back?” He asked.

“I just did.” He replied him. 

Daniel sat beside him. “I met Vanessa today.” He told him. He had told him about Vanessa that day he came back from dinner. 

Mike looked away, trying to remember who Vanessa was. “Ooh, Debbie’s friend, right?” 
Daniel nodded. “How was work today?” He asked.

Mike nodded. “It was good. I’m meeting Chioma today, Dan. We’re having dinner together.” He informed him.

Daniel smiled. “That’s great.  Oyinda should be on her way here too, she called me and told me that she would like to see me. I think something is going on between her and David.” He said.

“Really? I hope is not because of this Ann lady that David just met.”

Daniel shrugged. “It should be.”

“Daniel, when are you going to location?” Mike asked.

“Maybe Wednesday.” He replied. 

“We also need to talk, and it is about you.” He said to him.

Daniel smiled. “Let’s talk now, Mike. Or are you going now?” He asked him.

Mike shook his head. “Not now, maybe when I come back, or later.” 

Daniel shrugged. “Alright then.”
Just then, the door was knocked and it was Oyinda.

** ** **
Vanessa sat by the dining chair, checking out her timeline on Facebook. “Debbie, I have a plan.” She heard from living room and raised her head. She stood up and walked to Debbie’s side. “What is that?” She asked.

“I want to open a beauty spa. There will be a section for people who want to make their hair, there will be another section for manicure, pedicure, also section for guys who want to barb their hair too, Vanessa.”

Vanessa smiled. “That’s a very nice idea, it will bring in more profit and also provide employment opportunities for stylists.”
Debbie smiled. “Sure. I will really start work on it as soon as possible to choose a suitable location. But it will need money.”

Vanessa chuckled. “That one cannot be bargained. But as the project continues, I know God will provide the money.”

“I left something on fire.” Vanessa was walking to the kitchen when the door was knocked. She turned back but Debbie waved at her. “I will get the door, dear.”

“Okay.” She said and proceeded to the kitchen.

Vanessa got the door. It was Dr. David.

** ** **

“Hey, Oyin. How are you?” Daniel stood, smiling.

“I’m good, Daniel. How are you?” She walked inside. “Mike, how are you?” 

“I’m good.” The two of them chorused.

“It’s been a while, hope everything is well with you?” Mike asked.

“Not at all, Mike.” She sat down. 

“Temitope, sit down.” She told him.

Daniel chuckled as he sat down. “I have forgotten that I am standing.”

Oyinda smiled. “What’s wrong with David?” she asked them.

David and Daniel looked at each other. It seemed it was as they have presumed, David and Oyinda at it again. “Is anything wrong with him?” Mike asked Daniel.

Daniel stared at him for a moment. “Are you asking me? She asked us, you are asking me.”

Mike chuckled. “It’s because I am shocked, Dan.”

“Oyin, I don’t think anything is wrong with him, why did you ask?”

“He has been avoiding me for a while now, I even met him in his office but he was still not moved.”

Mike glanced at Daniel. “Really?”

Daniel sighed. “What did he say when you met him?” 

“He said he has been busy, Daniel. I know he is lying. What is happening?”

Mike stroke his beard. “See,  David is not serious. Maybe he has been very busy, you know these emergency stuffs in the hospital? Sometimes, rushing to the hospital in the midnight, it might be that he’s totally busy.”

“Has he not been busy before? Did he become a Doctor today?”

Daniel sniffled. “Things like this are bound to happen, Oyin. But when it happens, it takes patience. Don’t worry, we’ll speak to him to know what’s happening.”

“I have called him twice today and he didn’t pick my call.” She told them.

Mike was shocked. He wondered when it had gotten to that stage that David was now avoiding her because he just met a lady. He wondered if he was just seeing a lady for the first time that would make him desert his relationship for another person.

** ** **

“Hey Deborah!” David grinned. “Good evening.”

Debbie smiled. “Good evening, Sir. How are you?” 

“I’m very good. What about you?”

She nodded. “Same here. Please, I haven’t seen this face before, Sir.”

“I’m Dr. David. I want to see Vanessa.” He said.

“ooh, please sit down, I’ll fetch her now.”

“Thanks.” He sat down. 

Within a twinkle of an eye, Vanessa came out, still doubting what Debbie told her that David was around. She had been wondering how possible it was, at least she didn’t give him the description of her place, by the way, she never wanted to see him. 

“Hello.” She greeted as she saw him. 

David grinned as he stood up. “How are you, Vanessa?” He asked. 

She looked so shocked. How did he know I’m Vanessa. Perhaps Debbie mentioned my name. “Please what are you doing here?” She questioned. 

“I came to see you.” He replied. 

Vanessa stood akimbo. “How did you even know this place?” 

David chuckled. “Leave that, it’s another story entirely.” He replied. 

Vanessa was infuriated. She stared at him angrily and squeaked. “Will you please leave this place!”

David was shocked. He wasn’t expecting the shout. “Take it easy.”

“Do you think I’m joking?” She frowned. “Debbie! Please call the police.” She said. 

“Okay dear,” Debbie said from inside. 

“It’s not up to this, just want to know how you are fairing.”

“Please I have told you there’s no way, will you leave before the police arrive?”

“What if I don’t?” He smiled. 

His smile got Vanessa more umbrageous. “Mr. Dr. Or what are you? Don’t let hell descend here today, please leave!” She exclaimed. 

David sat down and kept staring at Vanessa. Soon, Vanessa left the living room angrily for Debbie’s room. 

Not later than then, the pitch of the siren filled the atmosphere. Arrival of the police force. 

David brushed to his feet instantly while Debbie and Vanessa also marched out of the room. “Didn’t I tell you to leave earlier? You’ll go and explain yourself to the police. 
Suddenly there was a knock at the door. Vanessa unlocked the door and was surprised to see Williams with the policemen. “This is the lady, arrest her.” Williams said… 
.. and the story continues tomorrow… 
 

8 thoughts on “THE OTHER ME – 6

Leave a comment.

