THIRTEEN.

image
My Wife And I

Daniel is what? Nora thought within herself instantly. “Sister Tonia.” She quickly arose from the bed as she saw her.

    “Dear Nora, how are you today?” Tonia flashed her teeth before her, grinning.

    “Daniel… Daniel? Where is Daniel? Alive?”

    “Just take it easy, dear. He’s alive but… He’s not fine.”

    Nora’s eyes formed tears already. “Where’s Daniel? Where’s he?” She was panting.

    “Not here in Nigeria. He’s currently under treatment but the gunshot wound has affected his fore brain which controls speech and movement.” She told her sadly. “Anyways, that’s an issue for another day. How are you doing? What did that beast do to you?” She quickly asked her.

    “When will I see Daniel?” She was still more concerned about Daniel than any other discussion. “Can’t he talk again? Can’t he walk again? Tell me something.” She began to cry.

    “Dear, you have to be fine as I have said. Just get well, there’s more to be discussed.”

    “Sister Tonia.” Gloria called her, smiling.

    She looked beside her and saw Gloria. She couldn’t remember where exactly she knew the face, but it was so familiar. “Em.. sorry, I’m trying to remember you, ma.” She smiled.

    “Wow! This is Gloria. The one who got lost many years back.” Gloria said.

    Gloria tried to remember as she dimmed her eyes. “Gloria… You!” She exclaimed. She could now remember her vividly. She was the one Daniel was in love with before she got lost. “How are you?” She moved closer with a glowing face.

    “I’m doing great.” She grinned.

    “Wow! You just got missing like that? That’s a story for another day. But what are you doing here? Where’s the lady that the officers told me that helped them to locate Nora?” She looked around.

    “She’s the one, Sis. She was the one who saved me from Alex’s den.”

    “Do you guys know each other? By the way, who is this goat called Alex?”

    “We got to know each other through Daniel. Alex is her fiancé.”

    “No, he was. We dissolved everything long time back.”

    Tonia clapped her hands together. “I am still in the dark. That means Gloria have met Daniel already, right?”

    Gloria chuckled. “A funo, he was. We dissolved everything long time back.”

    Tonia clapped her hands together. “I am still in the dark. That means Gloria have met Daniel already, right?”

    Gloria chuckled. “A funny day, it was.”

    Nora smiled too. “They have met. They actually met a day to our wedding.” She explained.

Tonia swooshed out a long breath from her nostrils. “Anyways, we’ll talk about all that later. I’m just happy everyone’s back together.”

    “So, Daniel?” Nora asked Tonia again.

    Tonia smiled. “Take a rest, dear.”

** ** **
*.SEVEN MONTHS LATER.*
    ALEX.

    If I had known, wouldn’t I have believed in God? Wouldn’t I have given him the wheel of my life to drive? I never read the Bible, but getting here, Bibles were distributed to us. It is better for those who are outside the prison to start reading the Bible so that they won’t read it when they eventually get to the prison.

    No one is here to teach me now about Christ before I start knowing him. I wish I followed Gloria to Church when she was calling me. I wish I never lived my life in a reckless way. What even planted that evil thought of killing Daniel in my mind? What actually prompted me to kidnap Nora?

    I thought I was in love, but that was lust! I never loved God, how could I have loved any other person better. As I have read in Matthew, Loving God is the greatest commandment which even hangs all the prophets. If I never loved God, could I have loved either Gloria or Nora better? Certainly No!

    It pays to listen when one have the chance to listen! It pays to live one’s life as if one would die tomorrow! Prison is not a good place for one to be. It is even better to be here than the hell fire I read in the Bible. The description alone, according to John the beloved that wrote the book of Revelations frightened me. How can fire be burning a soul and you’ll be in the eternal pain without suffering?

    If I get another chance, I’ll live my life for no one else, but God!

** ** **

    Daniel was already in Nigeria, but still struggling with his speech. His utterances weren’t clear like before and he still couldn’t walk on his feet. All thanks to God and the wheelchair that had been supporting him. Nora had never taken a break! She was always running up and down even in her condition just to make sure Daniel was fine.

    She could read the passion on his face whenever they were together. Sometimes, she’d cry her eyes out, wondering if her husband would be able to talk like a normal human again, if he would be able to walk on his feet again.

    Though the Doctors that operated him abroad had told them he would still be fine, so far he was with his loved ones who would care for him. But it was seven months already! He still couldn’t talk or walk! Though, he was getting better day by day, but she expected him to be whole already.

    For how long!

** ** **

    It was a cool Saturday evening. The breeze was blowing softly by the side of the beach and there were lovers and families around the beach who might have to have a view and enjoy their lives like David and Gloria. The two were under the shed with a drink with each of them. David had told Gloria earlier that he would like to take her to somewhere where she would love to go to

    She really loved it, from all indications. She had been smiling and drinking with David for a while now as both of kept running conversations on their secondary school life. “I just wish that time can just come back!” Gloria had said severally.

    “Indeed one of the best moments of one’s life. A moment you’ll think it’s tough and after that time, you’d just want that time to come back to life. Honestly those teachers were bombs then! I can never forget the English our economics teach spoke when I was in Senior Secondary School Two; she was like – ‘if you don’t pay your tax, it is an offend.’”

    They both burst into laughter. “That’s hilarious!” She passed her comment.

    “I just can’t forget. Because when she said it, I couldn’t hold back my laughter, not knowing that the woman knew she just committed a blunder. She caught one of us laughing and dealt with the guy. She was now telling the guy to look at me, that I never laughed at her.”

    “But you actually did. May God forgive you.”

    “Honestly, not easy at all. I didn’t laugh at teachers’ blunders but that was too much! I couldn’t resist the laughter!”

    “May God just forgive you.”

    They continued gisting for hours until Gloria said it was high time they left. “Before we leave, Gloria. I want to ask you one question.”

    “What question?” She faced him.

    David smiled. “I’ll be right back.” He stood up and left hurriedly.

** ** **

    Alex had just finished preaching to some of his mates while they were cutting down bushes in the prison. He was now being called Pastor by even warders in charge of them. Since he knew what the truth was, he had been preaching the gospel to everyone he met. He had learnt humility to even prisoners younger than him.

    He had promised himself that the twenty years he was meant to use in the prison, would be to God’s glory and service if he was still alive. He was already a role model of many prisoners already, letting peace reign in everything they did in the prison there.

   He was surely a great testimony of God’s change.

** ** **

    David walked back briskly, sweating profusely. “Let’s get going.” He said to her.

    “I thought you  said you wish to ask me one question, why the sudden change of heart?” She wondered.

     “You’ll get the question very soon. Let’s just get going, ma.” He smiled.

    Gloria chuckled. “Alright, Sir.” She stood up and they got going already. As they got to where they parked the car, David opened the door for her to enter and crossed to the driver’s seat after shutting the door. As Gloria entered, she could see a white teddy bear hanging in front of her with red inscriptions on it – “Will you marry me?”

    David just entered and pretended as if he knew nothing. Gloria had smiled as she saw the teddy bear. At least it was there she sat while they were coming, there was nothing of such there. It must be that was what he just came around to do when he told her he would be right back the other time.

    “When did you get this teddy?” Gloria asked David, smiling.

    Dave chuckled. “I bought it for you. You can just take it with you.”

    “Honestly, you’re funny.” She smiled and detached the teddy bear.

** ** **

   
…Story Continues..

The final episode of this story drops either tomorrow, Saturday or Sunday, 3rd May, ’15. Cheers!

Danniedeekonsepts.

8 thoughts on “MY WIFE AND I

  1. A fulfiling future belongs 2 those wit strong vision and resilence.It doesn’t matter where U might be now.Starting well n finishing strong is what counts. May God continue to nourish wif sound wisdom nd knowledge… More power to ya elbow dear lil senior

    Like

Leave a comment.

